Bachelor of Science (BS) in Diagnostic Imaging Introduction

The Bachelor of Science in Diagnostic Imaging Degree at Lincoln University consists of 45 units of General Education, 16 units of Core, 34 units of General Ultrasound, 21 units of a Concentration and Elective courses, and 6 units of Externships supervised by certified advisors.

Students may choose one of three concentrations, and will be eligible to perform clinical practice in two externship rotations. Currently students who successfully completed the Bachelor of Science degree program qualify for the American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS) national board examination and the consequent licensing.

Upon completion of the program, students should be able to examine patients at various medical facilities, perform ultrasound procedures, and manage and direct operations in ultrasound labs.


Grade and Academic Progress Requirements

Students enrolled in the Bachelor of Science degree program are expected to maintain their grades corresponding to the policy of satisfactory progress described in the University’s academic catalog and the following chart. The chart specifies the criteria for achieving satisfactory academic progress for full-time students (no transfers) in the University BS degree program based on the allowable maximum number of semester credit hours attempted (part-time students are evaluated proportionally to the taken part of a program; students who changed their program will be evaluated on all courses taken).

Program Maximum Units Attempted* Evaluation
Credit Units
Minimum  Cumulative GPA
BS in DI
48 End of 1st Academic Year 21 2.0
72 25% of MTDC 30 2.0
96 End of 2nd Academic Year 42 2.0
144 50% of MTDC 61 2.0
183 End of 4th Academic Year 84 2.0
183 End of 5th Academic Year 105 2.0
183 100% of MTDC (6 years) 122 2.0

*    Units attempted means courses’ units for which the students have incurred a financial obligation or for which any university scholarship funds have been disbursed.